A large piece of wall art with a wavy, tiled design.

Tribal Relations

Meet the members of the American Indian Advisory Committee.

The American Indian Advisory Committee provides advice and guidance to the Heard Museum on policy and procedural issues associated with American Indian matters. The Committee is responsible for annually nominating the recipient of the Spirit of the Heard Museum Award – for approval by the Board of Trustees. Committee members help to foster mutual respect, understanding and involvement of Indian communities in the museum.


Marcus Monenerkit

Director of Community Engagement

American Indian Advisory Committee

A standing committee of the Heard Museum Board of Trustees

AIAC Members

Dr. Marigold Linton – Co-Chair – (Cahuilla/Cupeno)

Judy Dworkin – Co-Chair

Dr. Craig Cohen

Governor Stephen Lewis – (Gila River Indian Community)

Trevor Reed

Ginger Sykes Torres – (Navajo/Bitter Water Clan)

Christy Vezolles – (Shawnee)

John Coggins – Ex-Officio

John Lomax – Ex-Officio

Dr. George Blue Spruce Jr. – Life Trustee – (Laguna/Ohkay-Owingeh Pueblo)

Mark Bonsall – Life Trustee

Patti Hibbeler – Life Trustee – (Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes)

Dr. Wayne Mitchell – Life Trustee

Shelley Mowry – Guild

Marcus Monenerkit – Staff Liaison – (Comanche)