Tribal Relations | Heard Museum

Intertribal Greeting Sculpture by Doug Hyde (Ojibwa/Nez Perce/Assiniboin),“Intertribal Greeting,” Bronze. Gift of Adrienne and Jerry Kay

Tribal Relations

The American Indian Advisory Committee will provide advice and guidance to the museum on policy and procedural issues associated with American Indian matters. The Committee is responsible for annually nominating the recipient of the Spirit of the Heard Museum Award – for approval by the Board of Trustees. Committee members help to foster mutual respect, understanding and involvement of Indian communities in the museum.


Marcus Monenerkit
Director of Community Engagement


American Indian Advisory Committee

A standing committee of the Heard Museum Board of Trustees


AIAC Members

Dr. Marigold LintonCo-Chair(Cahuilla/Cupeno)
Judy DworkinCo-Chair
Dr. Craig Cohen
Governor Stephen Lewis(Gila River Indian Community)
Trevor Reed
Ginger Sykes Torres(Navajo/Bitter Water Clan)
Christy Vezolles(Shawnee)
John CogginsEx-Officio
John LomaxEx-Officio
Dr. George Blue Spruce Jr.Life Trustee(Laguna/Ohkay-Owingeh Pueblo)
Mark BonsallLife Trustee
Patti HibbelerLife Trustee (Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes)
Dr. Wayne MitchellLife Trustee
Shelley MowryGuild
Marcus MonenerkitStaff Liaison(Comanche)

Download the Heard Museum Tribal Relations Initiative Board Resolution

Mission Statement

The mission of the Heard Museum is to be the world’s preeminent museum for the presentation, interpretation and advancement of American Indian art, emphasizing its intersection with broader artistic and cultural themes.

Visitor Guide

Visitors Guide Cover

View/download the Visitor Guide

Browse the rest of our downloadable materials on the Brochures & Guides page →